Users & Roles

User accounts provide a team member access to your workspace. Each user can have individualised permissions as to what they can see and interact with, or grouped permissions in the form of roles.

  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘people Users’.
  3. A list of users is shown under ‘Users’ including their email address and date added.
  4. Once found click on the user to view them.
  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘people Users’.
  3. Click on the ‘Create User’ button.
  4. Invite a new user by sending an invitation through email.
  5. Add the new users name and email address.
  6. Add the new users roles by clicking ‘Add Role’.
  7. Click on the ‘Invite’ button when complete to send an invitation.
  8. Once an invitation has been sent, view the date of when a user was invited in the ‘Users’ list.
  9. To resend an invitation if the link has expired find the users name in the list and click ‘Resend invitation’.
  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘people Users’.
  3. Click on the desired users name to begin editing.
  4. View the last time (‘Last Seen’) the user was logged into the system, near their name.
  5. Edit the user's name and ‘User Initials’ as desired. Note the email cannot be changed.
  6. Add the users 'Healthcare Identifier' by clicking on the 'search' button.
  7. Search for the users HPII using their name, AHPRA, HPII Number or Address.
  8. Click the 'search' button. If found the users details and HPII number are displayed and may be selected if correctly matching.
  9. Add the users 'dispensing information' which is the contact information attached to an e-prescription dispensing record.
  10. Add or detach roles as required for the user.
  11. Add or detach individual permissions in addition to standard roles by clicking ‘Add Permissions’.
  12. Check users usage history for the last 90 days under ‘Auth History’.
  13. Click on the ‘Save’ button when finished to save changes.

A user can receive a permission directly and through one or more roles. Removing the direct grant does not remove access still granted by a role.


  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘people Users’.
  3. Open the user and click ‘Add Permissions’.
  4. Use ‘Search Permissions’ to find an action. Hover over a permission to read its description and see which roles grant it.
  5. Review the checkbox state: an inherited check means a role grants access; a double check means both a role and a direct grant provide access.
  6. Select or remove direct permissions, then click ‘Save’ in the modal. Direct permission changes are saved there.
  7. To change inherited access, change the user's assigned roles, or edit the relevant role under ‘Roles’ using ‘Add/Edit Permissions’. Changing a role's permissions affects the users assigned to it.
  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘group_work Roles’.
  3. A list of roles is shown under ‘Roles’.
  4. Once found click on the role to view it.
  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘group_work Roles’.
  3. Click on the ‘Create Role’ button.
  4. Under ‘Role Details’ add the ‘Role Name’ and the ‘Role Description’.
  5. Click on the ‘Add/Edit Permissions’ button under ‘Permissions’ to grant permissions to different aspects of the system depending on the roles requirements.
  6. Click on the ‘Create’ button when complete to save changes.
  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘group_work Roles’.
  3. Click on the desired role name to begin editing.
  4. Edit the role details as desired.
  5. Add or detach permissions as required for the role.
  6. Click on the ‘Save’ button when finished to save changes.
  1. Click the settings gear icon in the top-right navigation bar to open ‘Workspace settings’.
  2. In the left-hand side menu, under ‘Users & roles’, select ‘people Users’ or ‘group_work Roles’.
  3. Select the record to investigate.
  4. Open ‘More actions’ and select ‘history Permission History’.
  5. Select the date range and use ‘More Filters’ to narrow the action type.
  6. Review the date, action, permission, whether it was inherited, the role, ‘Changed By’ and IP address.
  7. Use ‘Export’ to download the history as Excel (.xlsx) or CSV (.csv).

Permission history records access changes. It is separate from ‘Auth History’, which shows authentication activity.

Was this page helpful?

© 2026 Compound Direct. All rights reserved.